window_pfcross271w St Mary the Virgin Gillingham DorsetThis coming Sunday is traditionally known as Exaudi Sunday. Today, it is called the Seventh Sunday of Easter. The traditional name comes from the first word of the Introit in Latin: ‘Exaudi Domine’, or, in English, ‘Lord, hear my voice’.

The traditional text for the Introit comes from Psalm 27:

Hearken, O Lord, unto my voice which has called out to you, alleluia; my heart declared to you: “Your countenance have I sought; I shall ever seek your countenance, O Lord; do not turn your face from me, alleluia, alleluia.” The Lord is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear?

My cyberfriend and reader Dr Gregory Jackson of Ichabod has an excellent sermon which explains the relevance of Exaudi Sunday to Christians today. I excerpted it three years ago and it is the best I’ve read yet:

Exaudi Sunday: between the Ascension and Pentecost

That post also expands on the meaning of the word ‘exaudi’ and how this Sunday links to the Ascension and Pentecost.

This is the final Sunday of Eastertide 2016.

