In 2009, Psychology Today ran a set of interviews with nine famous people called The Failure Interview Series.

One of those people was Donald Trump. In the early 1990s, he was $1 bn in debt. According to an anecdote from that time, which concerned a very young Ivanka (emphases mine):

Trump pointed out a homeless man to his daughter and said, “See that bum? He has a billion dollars more than me.” The Guinness Book of Records lists him as having the biggest financial turnaround in history. “In the early 1990s, I owed billions of dollars and many people thought I was finished,” says Trump. “I refused to give in to the negative circumstances and I never lost faith in myself. I didn’t believe I was finished even when the newspapers were saying so. I refused to give up. Defeat is not in my vocabulary.”

He added:

I knew that things were cyclical and also I’m a firm believer that you should look at the solution, not the problem. I focused on the solution and refused to give up. Being tenacious is part of my personality and I’m not easily discouraged. It’s necessary to be tough in the business I’m in, or in any business for that matter, and in certain situations you either have to be equal to the challenge or be defeated …

My father was friends with Dr. Norman Vincent Peale, and I had read his famous book, The Power of Positive Thinking. I’m a cautious optimist but also a firm believer in the power of being positive. I think that helped. I refused to be sucked into negative thinking on any level, even when the indications weren’t great. That was a good lesson because I emerged on a very victorious level. It’s a good way to go.

I wrote about him and his parents attending Marble Collegiate Church when Peale was pastor there for many years. I’m not advocating pop theology, merely referencing it for information purposes.

Fast forwarding to the present day, the Trump Organization transformed the iconic Old Post Office in the heart of Washington, DC, into a hotel. It opened to paying guests on September 12, 2016.

A few days ago, a man spray painted graffiti at one of the entrances:

It resulted in this vandalism. Jazmin Bailey took these pictures:

On October 2, The Gateway Pundit reported:

The liberal mainstream media totally IGNORED the attack. A Google search on “Trump International Washington DC” finds only one article on the vandalism – by conservative media outlet Independent Journal Review.

… NOW THERE’S VIDEO— Will Hillary be forced to disown these hooligans?

Probably not.

People no doubt think, ‘So what? Trump owns the property. And I don’t like Trump.’

However, he does not own the property. His company leases it from the General Services Administration — GSA. As a reader from The Conservative Treehouse points out:

The Trump corporation doesn’t own the old DC post office building, the GSA (General Services Administration) does making it government property and as such owned by we the people. Trump Corp pays $250,000/mo rent and has a 60 year lease to operate a hotel. So if you feel personally upset about this you should because it is partially your property.

Excellent point, well made.

I have read about this story a few times over the weekend. No one supports the vandalism. People drew three conclusions:

1/ Conservatives build things. Leftists only know how to deface and destroy.

2/ Throughout his career Trump has been at the vanguard of opening his clubs and establishments to people of all races and creeds, even when he faced tough opposition (e.g. from Palm Beach, where his Mar-a-Lago club is).

3/ The optics suggest that, should Hillary Clinton win in November, we can expect more identity politics and division. Under Trump, we would end up with something pleasantly unifying:

